About Fagatele Bay National Marine Sanctuary

About Fagatele Bay National Marine Sanctuary

About Your Sanctuary

map of the national marine sanctuary of american samoa
Samoan Archipelago with Sanctuary Units Identified. Click here for a larger map.

The National Marine Sanctuary of American Samoa is one of 14 federally designated underwater areas protected by NOAA’s Office of National Marine Sanctuaries. Of all the areas in the National Marine Sanctuary System, the American Samoa sanctuary is the most remote, is the only true tropical reef, and is thought to support the greatest diversity of marine life.

The sanctuary is comprised of six protected areas, covering 13,581 square miles of nearshore coral reef and offshore open ocean waters across the Samoan Archipelago.

This largest of the 13 sanctuaries in the National Marine Sanctuary System was formerly the smallest, as NOAA originally established the sanctuary in 1986 to protect and preserve the 0.25 square miles of coral reef ecosystem within Fagatele Bay. In 2012, NOAA expanded the sanctuary to include Fagalua/Fogama’a (the next bay east of Fagatele) on Tutuila Island, as well as areas at Aunu’u, Ta’u and Swains islands, and a marine protected area at Rose Atoll (which was named Muliāva as known by the Manu’a residents) including nearby Vailulu’u Seamount.

Revised January 24, 2014 by National Marine Sanctuary of American Samoa | Contact Us | For Employees | NMS Foundationleaving site
Web Site Owner: National Ocean Service leaving site indicates a link leaves the site. Please view our Link Disclaimer for more information.
National Ocean Service | National Oceanic and Atmospheric Administration | National Marine Sanctuaries | NOAA Library | Privacy Policy | User Survey