American Samoa


The islands of American Samoa are in the Pacific Ocean, midway between Hawai`i and New Zealand. American Samoa is 14 degrees south of the equator and just east of the international date line, making it the southernmost U.S. territory and the last to see the sun set each day.


American Samoa has a total land area of approximately 76 square miles (199 square kilometers), roughly the size of Washington D.C. The territory’s total area – including marine waters and the 200-mile exclusive economic zone – is 117,500 square miles. The population is approximately 60,000.


American Samoa consists of five inhabited volcanic islands with rugged peaks and limited coastal plains, plus two coral atolls. The volcanic islands include Tutuila, Ta`u, Ofu, Olosega, and Aunu`u. The two coral atolls are Swains Islands and Muliāva, or Rose Atoll. The capital of American Samoa is Pago Pago, located on the island of Tutuila, and is known for having one of the best natural deepwater harbors in the South Pacific Ocean


American Samoa has a tropical climate, moderated by southeast trade winds. There is little seasonal temperature variation. Average temperature is 82º F. The rainy season lasts from November to April, but rain is common year round.


Samoans are known around the world for their warm hospitality. Daily life in American Samoa still involves cultural traditions, including fa`a Samoa, the Samoan way of life. Most Samoans are bilingual. English is used mainly in school and in business situations and Samoan is spoken in the home and among friends.